Is My Book A Disaster?

There really are those moments when writers wonder if their story is any good. It could be a particular chapter you doubt is solid, or you could completely doubt what you’ve written so far in the document. Are all 40k words of my manuscript so far trash? You wonder if everyone is going to hate the story’s guts, or if it’s going to bore them out of their mind. Next, you think perhaps you should really toss it in a bin and write something else.

It’s not a fun feeling, but it’s a real one that many writers have to grapple with while writing. So here are some ways to deal with the road bump:

One, your instincts might be right.

Before we move to conspiracy theories—that our minds are anti-us—let’s first look at the straightforward scenario. That chapter, or scene, or those pages truly might not be at its best point, which is why you’re feeling restless about it.

If you’re a planner like me and make sure you have strong bones down before you start writing, then the sudden feeling that the story is going slowly or uninterestingly is probably right. And this doesn’t mean you should throw the whole thing in the bin. No, it means it’s brainstorming time. Play with ideas on how to elevate the scene or the stakes/tension. (For me, it’s almost always the stakes/tension that need to be upped when I feel this way!) When the right idea comes, you’ll feel more confident about your story again!

Two, nothing might be wrong.

Yes, sometimes your mind is acting as your biggest critic and finding fault where there’s really none. You simply need to move on to a scene you are more excited about, so you can feel good about the overall story again.

Some scenes/chapters/books are just quieter, and it doesn’t make them bad.

Often, I’m not the biggest fan of writing the beginning parts of a book because they can feel a tad slow with setting up everything. (Of course unless it’s like book 3 in a series, and I’m picking up from a major book 2 cliffhanger!) But I’ve seen many times that just because it’s not always my favorite part to write does not translate to it being a boring read. However, when I reach the middle and start writing the more climatic scenes, I feel great about the overall story, beginning scenes included. So it’s only a mind thing!

Three, onward and upward to the end.

As long as beneath all the doubts, you feel this is a story you want to tell, keep writing it to the end. When you complete it, you can take a step back, and later come back to see it with fresh eyes. You can then work on what you’ve written to make it the story you hoped for!

As the saying goes, “You can’t fix a blank page.”



2 responses to “Is My Book A Disaster?”

  1. Great points! I find that there are often sections I don’t enjoy writing; sometimes those are weak links that I need to ramp up later and other times it’s just not a particularly action-packed scene (my favorites!) so I’m not as excited about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes very true! And it tends to feel like if it’s not buzzy, it’s not going to be a good read, but sometimes books just need quiet moments and that is fine! Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

About Me

I hold a BA in Mass Communication, had worked as a journalist, and currently freelance as a writer for lifestyle websites. When I’m not writing or reading, I love savoring nature, listening to music, and amateur photography.

Newsletter

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started