3 Unexpected Benefits of Bad Network

I mentioned on the blog that I had horrible network connection for well over a week. I also constantly wrote about it on my Bookstagram stories, mostly because I felt guilty that others kept interacting with my posts and I could hardly do the same—and I love seeing and engaging with their posts! Most times, I only got crumbs of network in the midnight, and posted anything I had drafted then, and also tried to engage as much as possible.

And this is just on the matter of social media; let’s not talk about zero access to bank apps, clients, phone calls and texts, etc. My sister sent someone to the house and couldn’t reach me in advance to tell me. Poor dude had to jump through hoops to convince me he wasn’t some serial killer before I opened the door for him LOL.

So yes. It wasn’t a convenient circumstance at all!

However, there were some unexpected pros that came out of not being able to use the internet all day. Shocking, but true.

• Reduced Twitter Time

One day maybe I’ll get used to calling this app X. Anyway, I don’t spend hours upon hours on twitter, but sometimes, I do go on just often enough to keep up with publishing matters—and other general matters. Like the MET Gala red carpet. (I hadn’t known about the recent stunning display of the Aurora in America/Europe until I saw the pictures a day after on Twitter!) And when I start writing, I get profound thoughts I love to share about my writing process. Like, this is the one time I have real tweet-able ideas. So it was frustrating to not have access to twitter.

However, it did hit me days down the line that I haven’t had to see pub news that can cause anxiety or despondency. Of course, I always shake off anything that make me sad. But I realize now that not having access to 6-figure-deals announcements and fantasy trilogies bought by the big 5 has felt like a pleasant vacation for my mind. Don’t get me wrong, I’m always happy for these writers and definitely hope people will be happy for me when my news happen. But the unplanned break from twitter and it’s constant news that cause longing, definitely left me with freer and lighter days!

• Reduced Goodreads Time

I love hanging out on Goodreads, leaving reviews, finding book recs, seeing what others are reading, and carrying out my amateur publishing analysis on how books fare. I was bummed that I couldn’t go on Goodreads for over a week to even update my reading progress. But then I finally had a chance to open the app, and again realized the break from it had actually been positive for me. It had given my brain a break from publishing related things.

• A Safety Bubble

While we should often stay informed, there is a safe and peaceful feeling you get when you’re not always abreast of all the issues in the world. Whether they are the broader stuff happening in your country, or the stuff more personal to you. I noticed that, apart from my annoyance with not having internet access when I wanted, I did feel generally lighter during this period. And since I’ve had lots of willing internet sabbaticals, especially when I start writing a new manuscript, I fully recognize that safe-bubble feeling was because in a way, I was separated from real life!

Conclusion

It could be frustrating not to have network, but I quickly got used to it. Especially since I’m not dependent on social media. Take my glasses away from me for a day so I can’t type, and I’ll start bawling by midafternoon. (This actually happened recently!) But I can survive without the internet for a reasonable amount of time. And these were all breaks I hadn’t known I needed but that I enjoyed!

I imagine one might expect to see me say the Internet situation also allowed better focus on writing my manuscript. But the truth is that when I start writing, even the internet cannot compete with the sheer excitement writing gives me! So whether or not there are internet issues, it doesn’t have any impact on my writing!

Do you take Internet breaks? Do you find any benefits of doing so?



3 responses to “3 Unexpected Benefits of Bad Network”

  1. I actually get excited for internet breaks, though I don’t take them often enough. We go camping every summer, and I avoid anything online then (well, besides looking up directions to new places so we don’t get too lost, lol :D). I’ll also take smaller breaks from social media mostly due to having too much else on my plate. It does feel refreshing, though! When I return from an internet break, I find that I can think more clearly and feel overall more at peace.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s great to see that the whole “oooh people in the world can no longer do about social media and the world is doomed” words aren’t true haha. since more people understand the need for moderation, and breaks!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Totally! We can still exist without social media; it’s just more convenient to use it 😁

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

About Me

I hold a BA in Mass Communication, had worked as a journalist, and currently freelance as a writer for lifestyle websites. When I’m not writing or reading, I love savoring nature, listening to music, and amateur photography.

Newsletter

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started