Music III: 3 Songs That Inspired My Stories

• Rewrite The Stars by Zac and Zendaya

First of all The Greatest Showman is one of my favorite films of all time and the album is so so dear to my soul. So I’m super happy for any connection whatsoever to my books!

Second of all, I’ll be honest and say that unlike with the other two songs, I didn’t have a long-running connection between this song and my writing process before this post. I just checked the playlist note I was making for ADOBS and saw that I had Rewrite The Stars listed. At first, I was confused as to why. And then I recalled what part of the story I had been writing when I jotted down this song in the playlist!

In book 2 of the ADOBS series, Zair and Dathan face a lot that makes a relationship between them virtually impossible. But while Dathan is Zac-coded, wanting to try to ‘rewrite the stars’ in their favor, Zair is pretty Zendaya-coded in that she doesn’t think they can breech the intense lines between them.

“I know you’re wondering why, because we’re able to be just you and me within these walls, but when we go outside…”

This lines paint an accurate picture of some of the scenes. Where when they’re alone, being together seems possible. And then they step out into the wider world and every rule and person is determined to remind them they can’t work.

The reason why it’s tough to randomly hear a song, pause like I’ve been hit by a truck and exclaim, “That song describes ADOBS perfectly!!!” is because it’s mostly set in a desert. And there is a certain kind of tune that elicits the desert feeling (e.g. the soundtrack of the Prince of Egypt) and most are not common to pop radio. So I don’t think I’ll be having any eureka! song connections for the full ADOBS series. But this song really reflects the angst that Zair and Dathan have to wrangle with!

I hope you enjoyed this series.

Do you connect music and books (as a reader or writer)?



Leave a comment

About Me

I hold a BA in Mass Communication, had worked as a journalist, and currently freelance as a writer for lifestyle websites. When I’m not writing or reading, I love savoring nature, listening to music, and amateur photography.

Newsletter

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started