100k Words On ADOBS 3!

Can you believe it! I have crossed the 100k word mark on A Desert of Bleeding Sand 3!!!

I can’t believe this is a book I started off terrified to write only 3+ weeks ago. The thought of this makes me pretty emotional because I remember writing those first words and thinking ‘you know you’re likely going to abandon this project. You know it might take you way too long to finish until you don’t’.

Just really anxiety-inducing thoughts. Especially with me being on submissions with the occasional fears and doubts that can spring up about the submissions results. So the fact that despite it all, writing ADOBS 3 has been going splendidly, fills my heart with joy! I am drafting this post on the 15th of August and have covered 44 pages out of the 55 pages of my outline. But by the time I post this, I suspect I’d be much closer to the end of my outline/end of the manuscript. So the finish line is really near, and I’m joyous.

On Instagram, I posted that writing this book has been the balm I hadn’t known my soul needed, or would need. I’ve written books—like ADOBS 1—where I actively started writing to escape tough realities I.e querying. With book 3, life had seemed so jolly when I started it that I hadn’t thought it would be a much needed escape eventually. I’m not saying this to make my country appear like some backward uncivilized zone. We are civilized, I promise. But really scary stuff has been going on that’s sprung up a lot of uncertainties. It’s destabilizing. We’re working hard to improve our lives and achieve our goals, and then the foolish rulers declare war on another nation out of nowhere. When it’s not like Nigeria is standing on its own solid feet. Let me not taint this celebration with political issues. There’s been worries and uncertainties. And when thinking about it starts to get overwhelming, ADOBS 3 has been a great hiding place and source of joy.

Apart from political stuff, the personal life hasn’t been entirely rosy either. It seems there’s always heights to meet in life, and if you’re not moving at the pace everyone expects, you’re made to feel slow or unlucky. Working on this book has made it easy to shove all of those thoughts and things away!

I’m really happy I put on my big girl pants and decided to tackle writing it. And that I’m making the much desired progress. Yay!

(Current edit: I’m currently at 111k words woohoo! And suddenly I’m not eager to finish because I don’t want to finish telling these wonderful characters’ story hehe.)



9 responses to “100k Words On ADOBS 3!”

  1. Congratulations! It sounds like you’re doing very well with your writing, all the best with the rest of your journey 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your 100k words, kiddo, and my heart goes out to you for what your country is going through. I wish I could sponsor you and your family to live somewhere in this country, not that I personally think ‘my’ country is much safer in some places, but there are states where it is generally safer to live, and I do wish that I could just invite you and yours to come live here, somewhere safer than where you are, if you wanted to move. The fact that my passport allows me to leave this country (even if only for 90 days) in an emergency is one choice, even if I don’t have the money to back it up, I could walk across the international border if I had to, into Canada, put up a tent somewhere, and sit it out until they find and deport me, and it is not fair that other people do not have even that option. And it is heart-breaking when our world could Do so much Better for all of the human race.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ps: you have gorgeous fingers, kid! Love those beautiful tapered fingers.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Thank you so much for this empathy. I really appreciate it🩷 It’s scary but I won’t let the fear rule my life 🙅🏽‍♀️

      Like

      1. Exactly. If we let fear rule, what would we ever get done (of real value)? Keep being courageous, kiddo, and thank you for being inspiring.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats on getting the next book written! It’s such a great feeling to see a book come together. =)

    Like

Leave a comment

About Me

I hold a BA in Mass Communication, had worked as a journalist, and currently freelance as a writer for lifestyle websites. When I’m not writing or reading, I love savoring nature, listening to music, and amateur photography.

Newsletter

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started