My Story Moodboards

I’ve been making some Moodboards recently—something I had zero interest in before. But writing Twitter has lured me into trying it out.

I still find making Moodboards to be strenuous. Coming up with a concept to follow, and then finding photos that match just that can be stressful! Honestly. Especially for fantasy. I think it’s much easier with contemporary novel. And a (not so) interesting fact is that the first time I attempted a Moodboard for my Regency novel, I almost got in trouble. I’m pretty sure around that time I swore I was done with Moodboards forever.

Anyway, as the year rolls to an end, I decided to post the Moodboards to my current works I’ve written in the last two years🙂.

A Dyad Of Brass moodboard

This Moodboard is for my Bonnie & Clyde retelling—which I’m currently querying. Sure it has no more than 7 pictures but it took a while and lots of stressing before I could put it together. Good thing I absolutely love the result!

This is a WIP idea. It’s an indulgent project I hope to work on someday soon. I read LOTS of college romances this year and when I ran out, I decided to write one for myself to ease the craving. I’ve been stumbling with the plotting though, but this Moodboard captures the perfect vibe:

  • Group of friends
  • Autumn season
  • College setting
  • Sports playing MC
  • NYC stints
  • Instagram contest

(2024 update: I don’t see myself working on this wip anytime soon! It no longer fits my style or preferred genres.)

A Precinct Of Flames moodboard

And for the book (series) of my entire heart! Honestly, I’m not a huge fan of this Moodboard 😂. It doesn’t captures the essence or the vibe of the story. But it does have some of the major components represented so I’m sticking with it. For now.

A Desert Of Bleeding Sand moodboard

And finally, this is my current WIP. A Desert Of Bleeding Sand. Is it really a WIP though? I’ve finished the first few drafts and am now editing based on some amazing feedbacks I’ve received. I posted about it on twitter and it’s gotten lots of interest and love, that I’m doubly excited about it. This Moodboards captures the vibe, but boy was it hell finding all these photos. It took sweat and blood and endless hours. Okay, that’s extra dramatic but it wasn’t easy to make!

2024 Update: I have added the Moodboards for all of my projects here for easy reference on my blog.

Ailey Ose’s Moodboard

The moodboard for AILEY OSE, my Upmarket manuscript inspired by the ever-burning drama between Justin Bieber, Hailey, and Selena Gomez! I came back to add this update because I want to keep referencing this post while talking about any of my manuscripts. It’s comprehensive and compact, and will help orient both new and existing bloggers/visitors on my site!

A Winter of White Ash – ADOBS 2 Moodboard

The moodboard for A Desert of Bleeding Sand 2 is definitely one of my favorites. It encapsulates the title and setting of book two so well!

ADOBS 3

ADOBS 3 actually has another moodboard from before I understood that AI art was a no-no! This board was initially for ADOBS 2, but it somewhat also works for ADOBS 3. Since I haven’t been in a moodboard-making mood recently, I’ll be using this beautiful board for ADOBS 3. I have a title for the third book but have decided to keep it under wraps for now 🙂

Destitutes and Fiends Moodboard

This is the book that got me my former agent and the first I went on subs with. I wrote the fun, clean regency romance in late 2021, at a time when I still mostly read historical romances. It is Bridgerton meets Stalking Jack The Ripper, and every now and then I miss my spunky, sweet heroine, Ava.

(All photos are from unsplash and Pinterest.)


And those are my Moodboards and current projects! Do you like Moodboards? How is your experience making them?



16 responses to “My Story Moodboards”

  1. I love your mood boards! I really like the concept of a mood board. I’ve made a couple before for Twitter contests, and it was time-consuming and difficult than I’d anticipated. The main issues I encountered were finding mostly images I had to pay for and not being able to find a specific image that I had in mind. I suppose I’m better off taking my own photos and putting them together, but there’s a lot of work involved there, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There definitely is a lot of work —and surprising amount of money involved! Haha. Thanks for commenting 💙

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I want to get into making a couple mood boards, and yours serve to inspire me! I love the combination of words with amazing photos. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jaya! If you do make them I look forward to seeing💙

      Liked by 1 person

  3. […] I drafted my very first fantasy novel in November 2020—and since then I have written six fantasy novels in total. […]

    Like

  4. […] experience. (And I adore learning experiences in writing). When I wrote the very early version of APOF, I had okay characters, an alright plot, and a passable world […]

    Like

  5. […] because usually my character arcs just come to me right from the first word. But my current book Desert is proving to be a different writing experience from APOF and I’m relearning old processes and […]

    Like

  6. […] in this case I really do mean ‘scene’. I have been very excited about writing the book 3 of ADOBS and I think I’ve abused that word already. Every day, I post about a scene I just wrote or am […]

    Like

  7. […] first book of ADOBS was uber exciting as I itched to explore a desert-type fantasy world. Writing APOF was a blast as I visited a ton of unusual realms in the world. So, often, a new setting is an […]

    Like

  8. […] I’ve updated My Story Moodboard post to include AILEY OSE: this post has a list of my existing manuscripts and WIPs with moodboards. […]

    Like

  9. […] and while I’m enjoying it, something about the book constantly makes me want to go back to read ADOBS 1. After many, many rounds of revisions on ADOBS 1, I hadn’t thought I’d be able to read it for a […]

    Like

  10. […] my A Desert Of Bleeding Sand series is getting a name overhaul. Yay […]

    Like

  11. […] my manuscripts Destitutes and Fiends and A Dyad of Brass didn’t make it out of the trenches (D&F got an agent but not a book deal; DYAD didn’t get […]

    Like

  12. […] worry as I would if it’s an entirely new idea. If it was, I’d start thinking of perhaps pushing APOF back even further in the publishing schedule so that the new exciting idea would see the world […]

    Like

  13. […] Apart from inspiring me in my fantasy writing, watching the Dune movie has done the strangest thing. It has inspired another upmarket romance book in the vein of AILEY OSE. […]

    Like

  14. […] is my second fantasy trilogy, but the first one that I’ve actually written to the last word. For APOF I wrote the final book until the grand, last battle scene, and left that unwritten; so that I would […]

    Like

Leave a comment

About Me

I hold a BA in Mass Communication, had worked as a journalist, and currently freelance as a writer for lifestyle websites. When I’m not writing or reading, I love savoring nature, listening to music, and amateur photography.

Newsletter

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started